BEERS OF THE PODCAST #3

Allow me to gush for a moment about today’s beer: I loved pretty much everything about it.

Its name is Veltins Grevensteiner Naturtrübes Landbier, which may need some unpacking for those not acquainted with German. It is brewed at the C. & A. Veltins brewery in the small town of Meschede-Grevenstein, in Nordrhein-Westfalen, the industrial heartland of Germany. If a beer is described as “naturtrüb”, it means that it is unfiltered, the benefits of which is best explored in this article on filtered vs. unfiltered beer. Landbier literally means “country beer”, and denotes a simple, easy-drinking beer, usually with not too hoppy a flavour. In this case, “simple” is by no means a slur, but rather part of its appeal.

The Grevensteiner had a very cloudy, amber body whose head of foam was very airy. I drank it from my Hofbräuhaus dimpled mug, in which it looked superb. As was suggested by the description of typical Landbiers, it was a very drinkable beer with a slightly sweet, wheaty or grassy taste. In many ways, it reminded me partly of a more easy-going Pilsner, and partly of a pale-ale like Belfast Blonde (probably due to the sweetness). It also had quite a light after-taste. A quick word on the bottling – it looks lovely, doesn’t it?

Tonight, I’m going to buy myself one of the smart-looking 6-packs of Grevensteiner.

Final verdict: would drink again.

One comment

  1. Pick me up a pack too, please! Px

    Like

Leave a comment